Ray Wickson Memorial Award 2022

In recognition of the notable efforts of Ray Wickson during the course of his life to bring forth the cause of SCI cure research, including his leadership in the creation of the Canadian Spinal Research Organization we have dedicated an award in his name.

It is with great pride and appreciation that we bestow the first annual Ray Wickson Memorial Award this year.


Ray Wickson – A Pioneer in SCI Research

Ray Wickson was a pioneer and leader in a quest for a cure for paralysis caused by spinal cord injury (SCI). After being injured in a car accident in 1983, Ray dedicated his life to raising funds for SCI research and was one of the early leaders of what is now known as the Canadian Spinal Research Organization. Ray sadly passed away in March 2021.

In recognition of Ray’s dedication to find a cure for paralysis we have created the Ray Wickson Memorial Award. This award goes to an individual who has championed finding a cure for paralysis and is an active advocate for SCI research.


Congratulations to the first recipient of this award: Graeme Aitken

This year’s award goes to Graeme Aitken, who has supported CSRO for over 25 years as a Board Member, fundraiser, and advocate for SCI research. Graeme has been instrumental in moving CSRO forward and continuing the work that Ray set out to do 38 years ago.

For the past 7 years, Graeme has exemplified leadership and embodied the spirit of Ray Wickson acting as Chair of the Board.

Because of the efforts of tireless advocates like Graeme, our movement is at the forefront of groundbreaking research that is not only uniting and empowering our community, but -importantly – is yielding measurable results for return of function and alleviation of secondary complications for people living with spinal cord injuries.

Congratulations Graeme on your well-deserved recognition, and we thank you for your efforts on behalf of our entire community.